Reviews

Divergent

DivergentTitle: Divergent

Author: Veronica Roth

Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪ 

In Beatrice Prior’s world society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent).

On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows Tris struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together, they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes-fascinating, sometimes-exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret: one she’s kept hidden from everyone, because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly-perfect society, she also learns that her secret might be what helps her save those she loves . . . or it might be what destroys her.

I LOVED Divergent. Sometimes after Twilight (yes I am still a Twihard!) and Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire I wonder whether there will ever be books as engrossing as them. Divergent was fantastic, I was not disappointed. It even filled in my desire of a secret romance 😉

If I were to guess the market after the vampire I would say dystopian is the next trend. After the Hunger Games and now Divergent…that is the way things seem to be going in my observations. Which suits me fine I love books where the world needs to be fixed. If you are a fan of dystopians I would recommend Cinder by Marissa Marr or Wither by Lauren DeStefano. Both amazing books too.

Back to Divergent. The idea of this book is very original, yet simple to follow. When I first heard the book the idea of five different factions daunted me. Just like having too many main characters it can be hard to keep track of all of them. But Veronica handled this very well. I can remember the names of each and what they stand for.

Also I must applaud: all easy names to pronounce! Erudite stumped me at first, but Mum said it to me and it seems right. I pronounce it you-ra-dite, but you can definitely hear the “E” at the start. I guess I’ll see when I watch the movie on Tuesday!

Veronica writes in a way that captivates you and again it is all original. Everything. The world, the characters, the storyline. I loved all of it. There was a part at the end with Tobias where I thought Hunger Games, but as it went on I realised that it wasn’t the same idea, and it fit very well with the novel.

My Writer’s POV

What would I change? I have no idea actually thinking of it. I loved it. I enjoyed every aspect of the book. I shed a tear for Will, I might have changed his position in the end to Al. But then again I think she needed Al’s ending to draw comparisons between her mother and father’s courageous acts.

Yes thinking over it now anything I would change I think I would change back because it suits the story better than way. I guess the phrase “killing your darlings” suits now.

Overall well done Veronica! I thoroughly enjoyed Divergent and look forward to reading the other two in the series 🙂

TTFN! 😀

 

Leave a Reply

