Uncategorized

Hidden by P.C. & Kristin Cast

HiddenA House of Night Novel #10
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪.5

At last Zoey has what she wanted, the truth is out. Neferet’s evil has been exposed, and the High Council is no longer on her side – but she’s far from done wreaking havoc in the vampyre world.

With the seeds of distrust sown and Darkness breeding chaos at the House of Night, everyone must band together but that’s proving to be more difficult than ever before. The twins are barely speaking and the House of Night’s former enemy Kalona has now become their warrior, pushing their trust to the limits.

Zoey knows that following her instincts might be just what they need to defeat evil…but if she’s wrong, it could cause the destruction of those closest to her.

As the series goes on I feel more and more like they are just trying to fill space in. There are pages and pages of this book filled with crappy dialogue, which is really sad, because this series had real potential. Now that Zoey doesn’t have boyfriend issues anymore it seems they are using the internal squabbles of the nerd herd as a way to extend the pages. And much of the squabbles are annoying and not even entertaining to read. It’s recycled junk from the arguments of the previous novels; Aphrodite being hateful for no apparent reason and everyone calling her out on being hateful (I seriously thought her character had grown up and I was disappointed they downgraded her to bitchy 12 year old again), the rest of the nerd herd not understanding what grown up language is about (Damien had to hold his iPad up in class when Thanatos was in the middle of a cool speech because two words were too hard from the rest of the bunch).

I am sick of Zoey whining about how she isn’t grown up enough for all of this. YOU’VE BEEN WHINING FOR THE WHOLE ENTIRE SERIES AND IT’S BOOK TEN. GROW THE F*CK UP AND UNDERSTAND THE SOONER YOU DEAL WITH THIS CRAP THE SOONER YOU CAN GO BACK TO BEING A FIVE YEAR OLD. I loath the constant reminders about her snot and kleenex. It was cute when Heath did it because that was there “thing”, but newsflash Heath is dead. There is no need to remind every reader that you are snotting when you cry. WE KNOW.

The Aurox/Heath thing had the potential to bring the series out of the depths again and into awesome-hood, kind of like Stevie Rae and bird face, but it didn’t deliver. A small portion of the book focuses on Aurox, but it hardly ever mentions Heath. If I was Zoey and had seen my dead highschool  sweetheart in the stone the first thing I’d do after the ritual is rush after him. Even if Stark the hero tries to stop me I’d still get to him. Hello its Heath. It could be like Stephanie Meyer’s Host they could find another body for one of them to inhabit. Or it could be like Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion, Aurox could get all of Heath’s memories and then fall in love with Zoey.

Moral of the story: I want Heath back. He was the only awesome one who didn’t care about the rest of the guys because he just wanted to be with Zoey. But then that makes me remember an awesome quote by HEATH Ledger (see Heath). “What is with this chick? She got beer flavoured nipples?” What is it with Zoey?

Now that my rant is over I can conclude by saying I did like the book. A three star rating means I liked it, and I added a .5 which means its half way between I liked it and I really liked it. The storyline is still good and I enjoy how Zoey and Stark are still together. At least in that aspect she has grown up (though I really was rooting for her and Kalona to end up together until he killed Heath).

The ending of the series is a mystery to me. I’m not sure how they are going to pull it off considering they could have easily killed Neferet at the end if they went and investigated.

All in all if you are still reading the HON series read this one. After nine books you owe it to yourself to finish the series, and it’s not the worst thing you could read. Maybe save it for a day where you don’t have any other books with you, or you don’t feel like starting a new series.

Only two more to go!

 

Jo Carter x 😀

Leave a Reply

