Uncategorized

Four Book Choice 22.07.14

 

In an effort to read books faster than usual I’m choosing one out of four from my TBR pile. This way I’ll read the one I really want to and hopefully soar through it ready to get onto the next one.
Eve & AdamEVE & ADAM by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate
Goodreads rating ✪ ✪ ✪.61
In the beginning, there was an apple.
And then there was a car crash, a horrible, debilitating injury, and a hospital. But before Evening Spiker could regain consciousness, there was a strange boy checking her out of hospital and rushing her to Spike Biopharmaceuticals, her mother’s research facility. Once there, Eve has time to heal, and to cope with eerie isolation only interrupted by her overbearing mother, a strange group of doctors, and the mysterious boy who brought her there.
Just when Eve thinks she will die – not from her injuries, but boredom – her mother gives her a special project: Create the perfect boy.
Using an amazingly detailed simulation that is designed to teach human genetics, Eve starts building a boy from the ground up: eyes, hair, muscles, even a brain, and potential personality traits. Eve is creating Adam. And he will be just perfect . . . won’t he?
To say I was disappointed by the Goodreads rating is an understatement. I know its affected by bad and good ratings, but I was really hoping for at least a four star rating. The cover looks amazing. I know, I know “never judge a book by it’s cover”, but come on! This cover is gorgeous. I love it. I fell in love with it when I saw it in the Big W catalogue. I had to have it, and I’ve been looking forward to reading it ever since. Did I mention I loved genetics in biology? I just realised something cool about the cover. The apple is a real photo, but the leaf and stem are animated. I dunno if you can see it on the computer, but if you get your hands on the copy check it out!

NAMEDROPPER by Emma Forrest
Goodreads rating ✪ ✪ ✪.50
Meet Viva Cohen: a teenage schoolgirl bombshell. Her bedroom walls are plastered with posters of silver-screen legends, and underneath her school uniform she wears vintage thigh-high stockings. Her best friends are a drugged-out beauty queen and an ageing rock star, and she lives in London with her gay uncle, Manny.
Viva spends her days gatecrashing gigs, skiving her exams and trying to live the life as glamorously as her number one icon, Elizabeth Taylor. But then she sets out on a pilgrimage: in search of real love, experience and Jack Nicholson. Wicked-tongued and restless, Viva is like no other girl – and this is no ordinary summer …
I think Viva is going to be an interesting girl to spend 239 pages with. I’m hoping she’s going to be a witty and entertaining heroine. It sounds like another coming of age love story, but one with a kick ass narrator. I don’t feel much love for the cover I have. If you click on the image it takes you to the Goodreads page which has a better version of the cover of a black haired girl leaning over a mirror to apply make up. The title is also written in some type of make-up probably a mix of mascara and lipstick.

So Much to Tell YouSO MUCH TO TELL YOU by John Marsden
Goodreads rating ✪ ✪ ✪.79
‘I don’t know what I’m doing here. Well, I do really … I have been sent here to learn to talk again. Sent here because my mother can’t stand my silent presence at home. Sent here because of my face … ‘
She watches she dreams. She sees more than they realise. She has worries and fears, hopes and desires. She is troubled; she is angry. Above all, she is lonely.
She may be someone you know. She may be you.
I love John Marden’s Tomorrow series. I’m looking forward to reading his debut novel especially since it was enjoyed enough to have a 25th anniversary edition made in honour of 25 years of John Marsden. On the Goodreads site it has the original blurb about a girl at boarding school tasked with writing a diary as a way of expressing her thoughts and feelings. I enjoy diary formats of books. You can cut the day to day crap and devel into the character’s emotions all the more. I really like the cover. It’s one of those simple, elegant designs, like His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman:

His-Dark-Materials-trilog-001
Simple, yet effective.

 

 

 

 

Beautiful MaliceBEAUTIFUL MALICE by Rebecca James
Goodreads rating ✪ ✪ ✪.79
‘Truth or dare?’ she asks.
I hesitate. ‘Truth,’ I say finally. ‘I can imagine one of your dares, and I don’t fancy running down Oxford Street naked tonight.’
‘Truth,’ Alice says slowly, drawing out the vowel sound as if she’s savouring the word. ‘Are you sure? Are you sure you can be completely honest?’
‘I think so. Try me.’
‘Okay.’ And then she looks at me curiously. ‘So. Were you glad, deep down? Were you glad to be rid of her? Your perfect sister? Were you secretly glad when she was killed?’
Katherine has moved away from her shattered family to start afresh in Sydney. There she keeps her head down until she is befriended by the charismatic, party-loving Alice, who brings her out of her shell. But there is a dark side to Alice, something seductive yet threatening. And as Katherine learns the truth about Alice, their tangled destinies spiral to an explosive and devastating finale.
I haven’t read a psychological thriller before. The closest is The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove by Lauren Kate. I enjoyed that, I’m hoping I’ll enjoy this. It makes me think of Gossip Girl and I loved that TV show. The blurb doesn’t give me a sense of who the protagonist is. Will she be a quiet broken girl now that her sister is gone? Or will Alice be right on the money? Secretly glad her sister is gone and it’s only a matter of time before she becomes the perfect one? The cover intrigues me with the broken glass. Is Alice a killer? Did Katherine kill her sister and therefore Alice thinks they can be friends?

COVER COMPETITION:
1st place
 – EVE AND ADAM, did you guess? 😛 I couldn’t go past the dewy apple being transformed from silver puzzle pieces by a lightning bolt. And with the blue background and coding… It’s absolutely gorgeous!
2nd place – SO MUCH TO TELL YOU just scraped into second place. The simplicity won out in the end and the colour scheme. The orange title really stands out on the blue tinted face.
3rd place – BEAUTIFUL MALICE is an interesting cover and paired with the colour intrigues the reader.
4th place – NAMEDROPPER reminds me of those books you find in bookshop sales because the cover isn’t pretty enough to attract attention. There was no effort put into the title or author’s font. It shocked me to read this edition was published by Bloomsbury in 2003. Couldn’t they have put more effort into it? I don’t know much about the cover designing facet of the publishing industry. Maybe they were offering a budget edition in hopes that more people would buy it if it was affordable. One thing is for sure, if they ever try to stick a cover like that on one of my novels…Smack That!

THE WINNER OF THE FOUR BOOK CHOICE FOR 22.07.2014

EVE AND ADAM by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate.
I’ll let you know how this book goes. Did I think choosing Hidden by P.C. & Kristin Cast last time was wise? I’m 50/50 on that decision. Whilst I am happy that I am one book closer to finishing the House of Night Series and I did enjoy the story, I can’t help thinking that maybe I would have enjoyed a Sookie Stackhouse novel better.

We’ll see what happens with Eve and Adam! 🙂

Which book would you have chosen?

Bye for now!

 

Jo Carter 😀 x

 

Leave a Reply

