Uncategorized

Eve & Adam

Eve & AdamBy Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪.90

In the beginning there was an apple.

And then there was a car crash, a horrible, debilitating injury, and a hospital. But before Evening Spiker could regain consciousness, there was a strange boy checking her out of the hospital and rushing her to Spiker Biopharmaceuticals, her mother’s research facility. Once there, Eve has time to heal, and cope with an eerie isolation only interrupted by her overbearing mother, a strange group of doctors, and the mysterious boy who brought her there.

Just when Eve thinks she will die – not from her injuries, but boredom – her mother gives her a special project: Create the perfect boy.

Using an amazingly detailed simulation that is designed to teach human genetics, Eve starts building a boy from the ground up: eyes, hair, muscles, even a brain, and potential personality traits. Eve is creating Adam. And he will be just perfect . . . won’t he?

Don’t be daunted by the three star rating. It nearly scraped into four stars, but I just couldn’t do it. If you are into science and genetics you’d find it interesting. I love genetics and I love the questions “playing God” poses.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I read the blurb. They weren’t going to spend 300 pages creating a boy. The plot is a great idea, but I didn’t connect with the characters. Eve was too clinical, like her mother. I’m not sure how you’d fix that in a novel, because Eve being clinical is a part of her character. If they made her too mushy she wouldn’t be like her mother.

I wish they had of focused on Solo more. I wanted to learn more about him. Even if it was to explore his hatred of Terra. I still don’t understand why he hates her. I know it’s mainly because of the playing God aspect, but when did he discover this? I feel like his hatred threads deeper than that. I would have liked to explore more about his life, his past, and his emotions over losing his parents due to Eve’s father. Why doesn’t he feel more conflicted when he meets her? I know first of all it’s an act to get closer to her and learn more, but he doesn’t even seem to hate her that much. It’s almost like he see’s her and BOOM, he likes her and doesn’t hate her or feel conflicted because she’s good looking. His attraction doesn’t feel real until much later on.

The middle was my favourite part. The middle/towards the end. When the characters were really questioning the grey areas of to play God, or to not. The way they approached that discussion felt new. It didn’t feel like scientists had discussed it for centuries.

I don’t understand why the feck Aislin was in the book? Except for that tiny bit at the ending, but if I wrote it I would have changed it (more below). I hated her jerk ass boyfriend and I totally understand why Eve gets the shits at her. I’m going through a similar situation with one of my friends (on a much lower scale), I think I’ve got less tolerance because of it. I know there are people out there who go for hopeless case boyfriends, but that doesn’t mean I want to read about it. I feel like the drama Aislin & her boyfriend causes is just extra drama to fill in parts. To make the story longer, which annoys me. If you need filler your story isn’t strong enough. It did nothing to pull the plot forward except to demonstrate that Aislin has a terrible taste in boys, which comes into play for like a millisecond at the end of the novel as a means to an end. Without her boyfriend and the extreme flirting, Aislin was cool. As Eve’s friend she was fun to read about, I wish they would have fixed her character more.

This novel had so much potential and I guess that’s what frustrates me. I liked it, it was enjoyable, and easy to read, but it didn’t make me zing.

 

My Writer-ly Perspective

******SPOILERS ALERT*******

Disclaimer: I take no credit for the novel, world, characters, or plots of Eve & Adam. All credit goes to Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate. I am posting my opinion, and my opinion only, on what, I personally, would have done with this novel. I in no way represent anyone related to the creation of the novel Eve & Adam. 

This book kept me reading to the end because it was easy to read and it was entertaining. I wrote an update on Goodreads about half way, two thirds, into reading that if it kept getting better it might just scrape into four stars. Unfortunately it didn’t.

The ending felt flat. There was one twist which you could guess a mile off from the internal monologues of our two narrators. The mad escape from Spiker to the city was awesome. Solo’s dilemma with whether to actually expose what happens at Spiker. All good, and all well written.

It was the oh-so-perfect Aislin and Adam ending that wrecked the rest of the novel. First of all to make this novel epic I would have gotten rid of Aislin all together. That would leave Adam all on his lonesome, and wanting Eve. Apparently Adam has this aura that makes everyone love him (fuck that annoyed me when Solo said he’d do him even though he’s straight). Eve would then be torn between Adam and Solo. This would annoy me, as I do not love triangles. However I would explain it by saying that Eve is Adam’s creator, that eventually she can know that her love for Adam is more just because he’s her creation.

Adam would then have to die – because well he’s a freak of nature. How could he be allowed to continue? He’s not real. Adam would die and Eve would be distraught which would cause tension between Solo and Eve.

This could lead into a second where Eve and Terror are trying to rebuild Spiker the way it was meant to be (legally and morally right). Solo and Eve could try to have a relationship, but Solo is jealous of Adam, even thought Adam’s dead. Solo would also try to figure out where he fits in with the world now that his life mission of destroying Terror is over.

I just realised I’ve been spelling her name wrong. It’s Terra. Not Terror. Obviously you couldn’t name a person Terror, spelt like that. But she’s apparently that scary.

Anyhoo, Eve could be her clinical self where she is all like “I like Solo, but we’ve only known each other for not long and now we have all these relationship dramas which I’m not sure I want to deal with yet after everything.” It would be an insane relationship with many twists and turns.

Like I said. It had much more potential and the end just fell flat.

Damn. I really wanted at least a four star read. I guess it’s time to pick the next novel to read.

By the way… if you were wondering what I was doing up there with my Writer-ly opinion. I’m not just trying to be a know it all. I’m not published (yet), but I want to learn whilst reading, not just read.

 

Bye!

 

Jo Carter 😀

2 thoughts on “Eve & Adam

  1. I read a lot of interesting posts here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know
    how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool
    that creates readable, SEO friendly articles in seconds,
    just type in google – laranitas free content source

    1. Hi Chas thanks for the suggestion – I’d be interested to know what posts you preferred -, but as I am a writer it’s enviable that I spend heaps of time writing. Plus the more time I write, the better I get, so thanks, but no thanks, I’d prefer to write articles myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

