Uncategorized

If I Stay

If I StayBy Gayle Forman
If I Stay #1
Rating: ✪ ✪

A cold February morning . . .
A snowy road . . .
And suddenly all of Mia’s choices are gone.

Except one.

As alone as she’ll ever be, Mia must make the most difficult choice of all.

One word. Overrated.

I was only going to post the movie cover (the left one) as that’s the one I had. I had a choice between the movie and the one on the right, but I wanted the movie one because it looked prettier to me. I am glad I got the movie version. FYI it doesn’t have the release date and actor names and credits down the bottom. Read the quote on the front of version on the right. “Will appeal to fans of Stephenie Meyer’s TWILIGHT.” – USA Today.

Okay what the actual fuck?! Twilight is a vampire story, FANTASY, about romance. If I stay is NOT fantasy, and it is a series of memories with occasional storyline in between. The only reason it would appeal to Twilight fans is because they are broad readers. They two completely different genres. Yes they are both young adult novels, but Twilight is fantasy and If I Stay is real life.

When I saw the quote it just pissed me off. I felt like they were only using it to get more readers as the blurb obviously wasn’t appealing enough on that edition.

Okay now onto the actual review…

I finished reading and stared at the book thinking, I don’t know what to make of this. It didn’t resonate with me at all. There is no plot at all. The back of the book says it all. She’s in a car crash and has to make a choice between living and dying, but considering there is a second one it doesn’t lead much to the imagination. Maybe you could guess that the second one is about the afterlife except it’s not a fantasy book so that doesn’t really work.

Some of the memories are cute, especially with Adam, but the rest seem to have no point except the clique life flashing before my eyes.

I don’t have much else to say without giving it away. It had no real substance. The best thing I would say about it is it’s easy to read.

My Writer-ly Perspective

***** SPOILERS ALERT ********

Disclaimer: I take no credit for the novel, world, characters, or plots of the above novel. All credit goes to the author/s. I am posting my opinion, and my opinion only, on what, I personally, would have done with this novel. I in no way represent anyone related to the creation of the novel. 

I would do a big rehaul. The crash would be a prologue and I would possibly be a bit mysterious about whose in it. Then I would start out and actually have her life happening. Probably starting with Juilliard and the audition and her conflictions about telling Adam and the future. I would use the scenes with Adam to communicate to the readers what their relationship is like. I would keep that scene with her mother telling her that it sucks to fall in love so young when their futures are going in different directions.

Then the actual crash could happen – maybe something else before, maybe she and Adam have a fight about the future when Mia’s not being social at one of his concerts. There shouldn’t be too many memories whilst she’s debating whether to live. I think it would be cooler if she could go and visit her brother sometimes, then Adam before he knows, possibly whilst Kim is telling him. There is too much recounting and not enough of shit happening.

If expanded to more scenes of whilst she in a coma it could be cool, but then again it might be better to keep it short and sweet then put the second book at the end of the first. Not that I’ve read the second, but I’m guessing its about building her life again and what happens between Adam and her.

Jo Carter x

Leave a Reply

