Uncategorized

Aesthetic Bookshelf Obsession

I’m one of those people who likes to buy books. Okay well I love to buy books, really LOVE to buy them. I have about a hundred that I’ve bought but haven’t read yet. I also love to buy books people have borrowed to me. I feel accomplished every time I finish a book and put it on the shelf.

As you can understand I like my bookshelves to be beautiful and one of my pet hates is when books in the same series change their sizes and covers. I get it when a new edition comes out, a movie one, or possibly just to appeal to new readers. But please, finish the whole series in the same design and size first.

The best example I can find of this is Mary Hoffman’s Stravaganza novels.

Look at how beautiful the first three are. The shiny covers and beautiful fonts. It’s not that the last three a bad, they are quite nice covers, but since I have the first three the rest are going to look odd next to each other.

The Luxe is an excellent example of a series that is the same size and cover design.

They look beautiful on the shelf.

If you haven’t read these two series I highly recommend them. The Stravaganza series hasn’t actually finished yet. There are six in total, and on the Stravaganza website Mary Hoffman says she doesn’t know if the series is over yet.

The book I’m reading at the moment Falling to Ash by Karen Mahoney is the first in a series called Moth, but the second one isn’t going to be published physically. It will be published as an ebook, but I don’t have a Kindle and I don’t want one. I’ve got an iPad with Harry Potter loaded onto it for emergencies, but I never wish to convert to ebooks.

So far I like Falling to Ash. I don’t love it. I’m not sure if I’m going to read the next one now that its only going to be in ebook form because of a change in the publishing house. You can read the details on her blog if you are interestedΒ http://www.kazmahoney.com/blog/

I guess as a reader the physical form of a book shouldn’t bother me. Of course a book’s cover won’t deter me, or if I’m half way through a series and it changes I won’t not finish it. But it’ll be a while before I turn to ebooks.

2 thoughts on “Aesthetic Bookshelf Obsession

  1. I have to agree, no kindles needed, there is nothing like having a bookshelf full with books beckoning to be read. Also the changing of covers is again annoying as i to like to have the similar type covers of the same series.

Leave a Reply

