Uncategorized

Beautiful Oblivion

IMG_0902.JPG
By Jamie McGuire
Beautiful #3
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪

You fell in love with Abby and Travis.

Now, meet Cami and Trent.

Fiercely independent Camille “Cami” Camlin gladly left behind her childhood before it was over. She’s had a job since before she could drive, and moved into her own apartment after her freshman year of college. Now tending bar at the Red Door, Cami doesn’t have time for much besides work and classes, until a canceled trip to see her boyfriend leaves her with her first weekend off in a year.

Trenton Maddox was the king of Eastern State University, dating coeds before he even graduated high school. Guys wanted to be him, and women wanted to tame him, but after a tragic accident turned his world upside down, Trent left campus to come to grips with the crushing guilt.

Eighteen months later, Trent is living at home with his widower father, and working full-time at a local tattoo parlor to help with the bills. Just when he thinks his life is returning to normal, he notices Cami sitting alone at a table at the Red Door.

As the older sister of three rowdy brothers, Cami believes she’ll have no problem keeping her new friendship with Trent Maddox strictly platonic. But when a Maddox boy falls in love, he loves forever – even if Cami is the only reason his already broken family could fall apart.

Before I have a slight whinge about the blurb (compared to my last review…) I want to state how much I really loved this book. It was easy to read, hooked me in, and kept me in suspense for the majority of it. I put it down an hour before I went to sleep last night because there was a pause in the tension and I knew if something happened I wouldn’t have been able to put it down.

Now the blurb…I’m against ones with heaps of text on the back, and this one has heaps of small text. Considering the amount of books on the market I’d chose to read the back with less text. Readers really do like white space. I honestly thought there was too much information on the back of this book, not just in the look of it but in the necessity. The first two paragraphs describing how Cami and Trent’s lives are aren’t exactly needed. Even the third paragraph continues to talk about Trent and how his life is after the accident. It doesn’t even get into the main story until the last paragraph. It would make more sense to shorten all that information to a few sentences and hook them in more by talking about how complicated their relationship would be more, and whilst they’re at it, get rid of the part about Cami ripping their family a part. The majority of people reading this have read the first two and saw the Maddox Thanksgiving. Those boys are not breaking up over nothing.

I’m refusing to call this book the first in the Maddox Brothers’. It’s the third Beautiful novel. I really believe to fully get the ending you need to read the first two.

Beautiful Oblivion wasn’t as compelling as the first two. That’s why I gave it four stars instead of five. I loved it, and I would definitely recommend it to a friend (have you seen my new rating system?). I actually really want my cousin to read it because she’s read the first two and I really need someone to go oh my god! with about the ending. Seriously…was totally not expecting it, which is fantastic for a romance book as romance books are generally predictable. Girl ends up with one of the two love interests, its the rest of the story which has to keep you guessing.

I think the reason it wasn’t as compelling is the characters didn’t have the desperation as what the first two did. Cami and Trent are older, they’ve both been hurt more severely than Travis and Abby. Also Cami has a boyfriend, Abby didn’t.

The main issue I had with this was Cami’s dad. I couldn’t believe some of the shit that came out of his mouth, and it’s not because I didn’t think people can say those sorts of things. It’s that he’s portrayed as this massive drunk but he didn’t seem to be drunk in any other way aside from his words. I wanted to see more mannerisms, like maybe he knocks over the sauce bottle at dinner or trips over things.

The novel takes place roughly around the same timeline as the first two (Beautiful Disaster is from Abby’s POV and Walking Disaster is from Travis’s). I found that a tiny bit coincidental. It worked for this one, but I hope she doesn’t do the rest of the Maddox Brothers’ romances in the same timeline.

There were many other characters which weren’t hard to keep track of because they were classes in the catergories. 1. Her roommate and roommate’s love interests. 2. Her Red Door family. 3. Her Skin Deep family. 4. Her actual family.

The romance in this book was compelling, and built up to a crescendo. Like Abby, Cami held off from her Maddox brother, and she also had a reason: her boyfriend.

Many people could draw similarities between the first two and this book. They were indeed similiar. Tough, witty female; playboy, but loveable Maddox; fiery best friend/roommate who isn’t afraid to speak their mind; roommates boyfriend who she fights with, but gets back together with; fucked up family… I was worried when I opened this book that it wouldn’t hooked me as the first two did because of the similarities, but it was still very much it’s own book.

But I do hope the next in the series have different females. I’d find it very interesting to have one that isn’t apposed to sleeping with a Maddox boy. One that is open and very willing to date him, and see how Jamie McGuire brings them together. I have every faith in her writing and I cannot wait to see how the rest turn out.

Beautiful Oblivion was another wonderful addition to the Beautiful Series. I also now need to pick up A Beautiful Wedding, for those of you who have read the first two, yes it’s the wedding, the one that you were probably disappointed like me that you didn’t get to see.

One last point. I loved this book. Despite the issues I’ve written above I would read it again if I read books again (I don’t for the simple fact: too many books, too little time).

If you did read it after reading Beautiful & Walking Disaster and need someone to gush about the ending with, feel free to comment below, or contact me on Facebook or Twitter . Seriously. I need someone to talk to.

Next I’ll be reading The Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M. Auel. I’m slightly terrified to read this as it’s my mother’s favourite series. I really want to love it! She promptly told me I was stupid for worrying about it, and that now she’s hyped it up so much it might not live up to my expectations. I’ve since tried to lower them, and I have reminded myself what I’m in for. Historical fiction, with not much romance until the later books.

Which hyped up books have you read and been disappointed by for not living up to your expectations? And which ones have? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

