Uncategorized

What happened to SoMeSu?

Social Media Sunday you ask? I apologise profusely for forgetting to post this one, but I had personal issues to deal with – a family member was in hospital. As you can understand my mind was else where, but since she’s on the mend now I’ve realised, Holy crap! Social Media Sunday! I’ll be (hopefully) posting another SMS on Sunday. Gosh that sounds like I’m sending everyone a text message. I think I’ll give it a NaNoWrMo makeover. Speaking of NaNo is anyone participating this year? I’ve thought about it, but at the moment I have too many commitments, and also I don’t have a new manuscript to work on. I have many ideas, but I want to finish my current manuscript first. Social Media Sunday is now dubbed: SoMeSu.

I haven’t even posted another review, but that’s because I still haven’t finished The Clan of the Cave Bear. Not because it sucks though, I am really enjoying it! I have about a hundred pages to go so expect a review soon 😀

I made myself a Scene Checklist, but after going through my first three scenes I realised there is no point fine tuning those scenes if my structural edit isn’t finished. You wouldn’t put furniture in your house without first getting the plastering, wallpaper, windows and doors right. I love analogies, I love putting things in different perspectives to make sense to everyone. Did that one make sense to everyone? There’s no point fine tuning each scene (notice I said fine tuning and not polishing, there is a difference) if the structure isn’t right. You may have to delete one of your beautifully crafted and tuned scenes.

To get myself back on track let’s look at my STG.

STG edited 18.4.14

 

I’ve completed 1-4, one more to go! My deadline is Christmas Eve, two months left. I can see here that I should be reading over and checking the structure again. I need to put away my scene checklist and open up my iPad to read again. I try to read my novel in one sitting, but since we go to visit at the hospital twice a day it’s inevitable that I’ll get interrupted. I also need to give myself space again since I’ve read over parts of it. Not as much as I usually do. I might finish The Clan of the Cave Bear and then read it over before starting something else. Or I might wait longer until I’m home and have another day off. But I really think I should use the same method again and see how things are.

Whilst I’ve got you guys here I’ll tell you about my new rating system.

Screenshot (92) Isn’t it awesome? I love how much more personality it has 🙂 It really conveys my feelings. I often worry that people will get the wrong idea when I rate a book three stars, or even two. Three isn’t a terribly bad rating, it’s just I’m saving my ratings for better books.

Hazel Grace will help me explain: “When you go into the ER, one of the first things they ask you to do is rate your pain on a scale of one to ten, and from there they decide which drugs to use and how quickly to use them. I’d been asked this question hundreds of times over the years, and I remember once early on when I couldn’t get my breath and it felt like my chest was on fire, flames licking the inside of my ribs fighting for a way to burn out of my body, my parents took me to the ER. The nurse asked me about the pain, and I couldn’t even speak, so I held up nine fingers.
Later, after they’d given me something, the nurse came in and she was kind of stroking my head while she took my blood pressure and said, “You know how I know you’re a fighter? You called a ten a nine.”
But that wasn’t quite right. I called it a nine because I was saving my ten. And here it was, the great and terrible ten, slamming me again and again as I lay still and alone in my bed staring at the ceiling, the waves tossing me against the rocks then pulling me back out to sea so they could launch me again into the jagged face of the cliff, leaving me floating face up on the water, undrowned.”

 

Now it’s time for me to shut down my laptop and read! I’ve got this deal with sister’s roommate, where we are staying, that we’ll read the last two Skulduggery’s together, kind of like a race. I need to finish The Clan of the Cave Bear before I can start Last Stand of Dead Men. I’ve also got a feeling I should start it before Dad gets home, because he’s got parcels for me, and if one of them is The Boar Stone I know I won’t be able to resist ripping into Jules Watson’s last Dalriada Trilogy novel.

What is everyone reading over Halloween? Something spooky? The scariest thing I’ve read is The Scold’s Bridle by Minette Walters, and that was crime. It wasn’t even thriller or horror. Unfortunately I’ve left my only Stephen King novel at home!

 

Talk to everyone on Sunday! 🙂

 

Jo Carter xo

Leave a Reply

