Uncategorized

Last Stand of Dead Men

Last Stand of Dead MenBy Derek Landy
Skulduggery Pleasant #8
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪

Skulduggery strolled towards Valkyrie.

“We’re at war?” she asked.

“So it would seem,” he said…

War has finally come. Not between good and evil, but between Sanctuaries, and if Skulduggery and Valkyrie are to stop if they must team up with the rest of the Dead Men.

And at the same time, another war rages within Valkyrie herself, as Darquesse is on the verge of rising…

The thing I love about Skulduggery blurbs are they are short. They convey a quick overview of the next battle in the book. They don’t wind on for words, and words, and unnecessary words, in a font that is tiny as to fit more words onto the back of the book.

That. Always. Puts. Me. Off.

The blurb is supposed to be a short and punchy to invite the reader to open the book. Not a long winded explanation that is really not needed.

The book was good. Derek’s writing is easy to read and I always blow through it quickly. The books aren’t un-put-down-able, but they are one of my favourite series. I love them and will be upset when it’s over.

Are we really on book eight? Did I really just read book eight? Did all that just happen?

The second last installment was as good as the rest. It had a solid plotline that doesn’t dawdle on. It really does take the 500+ pages. There was plenty of action and humour.

It was interesting with this one to be able to learn more about the rest of the major characters. You get to spend lots of time with the “Dead Men”, a group of Sorcerers Skulduggery was in during Mevolent’s reign. It was awesome having a team again since the first ones with Tanith & Ghastly saving the world too.

There are heaps of suprising twists and turns in the novel. HEAPS. And although you can predict when some happen you cannot predict what is actually going to happen.

I really really liked this book. I did. Which is why I’m finding it hard to write a review about it.

How do you write a positive book review? I can’t pick on things I didn’t like. Well I can…I can’t like everything in a book.

In Last Stand of Dead Men I didn’t like the humour the characters used. I felt like they had the same humour, the same responses to humour.

Now what I did like:

Seeing old characters return! I missed Tanith! And after seeing how hot Sanguine looks like in the front of the Maleficent Seven I am find to see him here. I missed seeing Ghastly fight and be out in the field with Skulduggery and Valkyrie. And oh my god Fletcher! I missed him, I missed him probably as much as I missed Tanith. I felt horrible when Valkyrie left him in, God I can’t even think which book it’s been that long. It was really nice to see him again, and to see that he has healed after their break-up

Wait to see what Derek has in store for you with the Reflection. I loved it! It’s quite a good thing to think about considering the Reflection has been living Valkyrie’s normal life for years.

The new creatures and organisations that are introduced into the novel. It makes you feel like no matter how many Skulduggery books there are you can never read enough to discover every type of magical creature or organisation/order in the world.

Okay I can’t think what else to say. I can’t get past the fact that there is only one book left. What am I going to do? This series has been a constant thing in my life since 2009. I’d always devour the book as soon as it came out and couldn’t wait for more.

I should be finished the last one in 21 days. (My reading schedule is doing good so far as well 🙂 If I didn’t read my quota on that day I’d just catch up the next day)

Jo Carter 😀 X

Leave a Reply

