Uncategorized

His Majesty’s Dragon

His Majesty's DragonBy Naomi Novik
Temeraire #1
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪

Aerial combat brings a thrilling new dimension to the Napoleonic Wars as valiant warriors ride to Britain’s defense by taking to the skies . . . not aboard aircraft but atop the mighty backs of fighting dragons. 

When HMS Reliant captures a French frigate and seizes its precious cargo, an unhatched dragon egg, fate sweeps Capt. Will Laurence from his seafaring life into an uncertain future – and an unexpected kinship with a most extraordinary creature. Thrust into the rarefied world of the Aerial Corps as master of the dragon Temeraire, he will face a crash course in the daring tactics of airborne battle. For as France’s own dragon-borne forces rally to breach British soil in Bonaparte’s boldest gambit, Laurence and Temeraire must soar into their own baptism of fire.

Another surprise nugget of a book. I received this book through LibraryThing’s SantaThing. I’m also on Library Thing as joey.f.carter but I’m not really active as I use Goodreads more. Still it’s a good site to be on if you would like to receive free books. They have lots of opportunities such as early reviewers programs and member’s giveaways.

I’ve never done SantaThing before but as you can guess from the name it’s like Secret Santa but with books. You pay an amount of money of your choosing and another member who is similar to you is chosen to pick your books, and you get chosen to pick someone else’s books. The books I’ve received are:

Now I wasn’t exactly keen to start this novel. I finished Skulduggery on Christmas day and I needed a book to carry on with until I went home on the 27th. I actually wanted to read The Lies of Locke Lamora first, but I wasn’t sure. I asked for a vote from everyone in the house and it was 4/2 in favour of His Majesty’s Dragon.

I am super glad! It was a wonderful read and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

At first I was super confused about the blurb. I didn’t know what the HMS Reliant was. I also didn’t look at Captain abbreviated into Capt. I thought the sentence ended and didn’t know how they could have missed the incorrect sentence structure.

My silliness 😛

Whenever I tell people what the plot is about they find it super interesting: Napoleonic Wars with Dragons.

Except for me the part with the actual wars wasn’t as interesting as the rest. I loved being on the ship, and Laurence & Temeraire’s relationship, and the different dragon breeds, and Laurence’s relationship with the other corps members.

They easily filled up the majority of the novel and I really enjoyed it. However when they got to the warring I became less interested. A lot of the war scenes felt the same. The end battle scene was really good, I really enjoyed it, as it was super different.

Like my rating guide on the right I would recommend it to a friend.

Naomi Novik’s writing is interesting and easy to read. I had clear images in my head.

I just hope the next novels feature things like conversations with the Chinese about possessing one of their dragons, and learning more about the breeds, and more development of relationships with the other corps members and also the members of the wider community.

Looking forward to the next one! 🙂

 

Jo Carter 😀

Leave a Reply

