Uncategorized

Full-time Writer In Training Part 4

It’s been a while since I didn’t one of these! Since I actually have some kind of routine going I thought it would be good to post what I do in an average day as a writer, now that I’m writing regularly.

7:30am – Alarm: depending on how late I went to sleep I might wake up and read. Lately I’ve been sleeping at 11pm so it’s a snooze.

7:45am – Another alarm. If I haven’t gotten up before now I generally won’t get up.

8am – Final alarm and arise. Eat breakfast (generally moaning about how there is no easy breakfast in the kitchen πŸ˜› ) and go through this morning’s emails. I’ve also been compiling the articles I like that I receive via email in the heading in the menu above “writing advice”. It drops down and you can select the topic where I link to all the websites the articles are on.

8:30am – Get dressed and head to work. Listen to Australian Writers’ Centre podcasts when I don’t feel like listening to music. I bought Sam Smith’s debut album In The Lonely Hour so I’ve been listening to that. But I am up to episode 40 I think, and they have done only 45, I think I’ll have to do a marathon and catch up. I’m driving to Bega today (45 mins) which will help me catch up instead of (20 mins) to work.

9am to 4.30pm (yesterday it was 6pm) – At work, sometimes thinking about writing when I’m doing tasks that don’t require my brain, such as setting up function rooms.

5pm – Get home and chat to my parents/unwind. When I’ve had a particularly mental taxing day at work I’ll go for a walk with Mum to even it out with something physical. Other things I do to get my brain power back is watch T.V. or have a shower or go through my emails again. I’m currently down to 39 unread, getting there!

6-7pm – Dinner time. On Thursday’s I make dinner, or other times Mum/Dad ask me to help out. I’m not good at cooking so I’m slowly learning before I (eventually) move out of home and have to make food for myself and anyone else living with me.

7.30pm – Shower time if I haven’t before

8pm – Get into my bedroom. I might have a quick clean whilst watching a TV show (Friends or Avatar: The Last Airbender at the moment), or most likely I’ll get straight to writing. I’ve started recording my progress on a spreadsheet to see how quickly I write. I have this fear that when I get my book published, and if the publisher asks for the second within a time frame I won’t know what to say because I don’t know! This way I can record my writing progress and know exactly how many words I can write per hour (well an average).

[I also hope to have a head start on the 2nd novel whilst I’m editing the 1st, but you can never tell how things go]

Screenshot (98)It’s not very pretty is anything, I don’t even have borders (yet? πŸ˜› ). I love the consistancy I see when I look at this week. I’ve been writing every day.

I generally stop between 30mins to an hour.

I will then go through my emails watching TV or read before sleeping.

What’s your average day like? πŸ™‚

 

maybe signature

15 thoughts on “Full-time Writer In Training Part 4

    1. Thank you! I love spreadsheets, I also use one to keep track of my reading. I’m trying to read 50 pages a day and I like to know how long it takes me so I know how much time to put aside πŸ™‚

      1. I hope it goes well for you πŸ™‚ I always feel more motivated when I open the spreadsheet and see all the days I did write, and I think “I can write again today, just easily”.

    1. Of course πŸ™‚ That’s excellent, thank you so much. I think I might do an extension post about how to make your own spreadsheet and I can link you back πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

