Uncategorized

So Much To Tell You

So Much to Tell YouBy John Marsden
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪✪

‘I don’t know what I’m doing here. Well, I do really … I have been sent here to learn to talk again. Sent here because my mother can’t stand my silent presence at home. Sent here because of my face …’

She watches; she dreams. She sees more than they realise. She has worries and fears, hopes and desires. She is troubled; she is angry. Above all, she is lonely. 

She may may be someone you know. She may be you.

I really like this blurb. It’s interesting, and definitely enticed me to read it eagerly, however… the last line: She may be you. Um… I don’t know about you, but I have never stopped talking or have been sent to boarding school. Unless this book was only given to the main character, that last line is utter crap.

I’m thinking about doing a Worst Blurb Competition. I’d have to make a score system up, and there would be two categories: the most boring and the most incorrect. This novel would get one point for being incorrect. But maybe the blurb is only a paragraph and gets one things wrong, verses three paragraphs and gets two things wrong. I’d have to do percentages etc.

This novel intrigued me from page one. It didn’t take much to convince me I really liked it. For starters it’s written by John Marsden. Hello Tomorrow Series. Secondly there is the mystery surrounding what happened to this girl. The only facts we are given at the beginning are: she doesn’t talk and she’s been sent to boarding school because her mother can’t stand her anymore.

Why was she sent there? What happened to her? Why doesn’t she talk? Is it something to do with her mother, since her mother can’t be around her for long?

These questions plagued my brain in the opening pages. I was hooked already and reading fast to find out what happened to this poor girl.

The novel is written in the format of the girl’s diary. She can’t speak and she has little social interaction with the other girls – all her thoughts and feelings and experiences are recorded in the diary.

You quickly learn to feel compassion and warmth for this poor girl. As the novel goes on she does have more interactions with the girls at her boarding school. They share a dorm room, so that’s a given, but it’s fascinating reading from the victim’s point of view. You get to see how the different girls interact with her, how their actions affect her.

I read this book in a day, it was well worth the read, and although it didn’t answer all the questions I’d like to know about, I didn’t mind. The ending was satisfying and although my curiosity wasn’t sated, I was genuinely happy for the protagonist.

I wish year eight students had to read this novel. I really do. It would be a good novel for young high school students to read, and it’s not boring, and anyone who has read the Tomorrow Series will be looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

