Uncategorized

The Awakening & The Struggle: Double Book, Double Review

The Awakening and the struggleBy L J Smith
Vampires Diaries #1 & #2
Rating:
The Awakening – ✪ ✪ ✪✪
The Struggle – ✪ ✪ ✪

The Awakening

Elena Gilbert is used to getting what she wants and she wants mysterious new boy, Stefan. But Stefan is hiding a deadly secret – a secret that will change Elena’s life for ever …

The Struggle

Elena is torn between her boyfriend, Stefan, and his brother, Damon. But these brothers hide dark secrets and a tragic past that threatens them all. Damon wants to lead Elena astray – and he’d rather kill Stefan than let him possess her …

Isn’t this cover gorgeous? Back in my book buying addict days (are they even behind me? I’m only suppressing my behaviour until I have severely cut down my TBR shelf 😛 ) I was trolling on Ebay and came across the whole Vampire Diaries series for $70 I think, around about that. They were so beautiful I HAD to buy them. I’ve littered them throughout my TBR shelf so I don’t go insane after reading book after book about Elena, Stefan & Damon.

I have to say these blurbs are pretty accurate. I cannot find anything to pick at. Short and sweet wins!

The Awakening Review

I was so keen to read the Vampire Diaries when it came time, despite what I wrote on my Reading List Showdown posts. I hadn’t watched the TV show in ages (by the way, NOTHING like the books) and I was keen for some Elena and Stefan action. Just for the record: I am team Stefan. He’s amazing, and I love him. I’ve never been into Damon and haven’t gotten up to his transformation part of the show. I’ll have to see if I change my mind the more I watch.

Elena in the novel is the popular chick I was expecting. She has blonde hair and dates a new guy a week. Her excuse is she hasn’t found the right one to make her heart race AKA stay interested for more than a week. Which is fair enough for a teenage girl, however I was not cool with her drooling all over Stefan when she was with Matt. It’s not even like Matt existed when Stefan was there (ironic that I am annoyed when I used to be like that in high school). Matt is a wonderful character. At one stage I thought he was starting to seem like a push over, but then he got the shits at Stefan for stealing his girlfriend and he redeemed himself, whilst still being an awesome guy.

However once Elena does dump Matt I love the chase she gives to gain Stefan, and I love the way he holds back. It’s refreshing. I’m not sure how refreshing, as other guys in YA fiction don’t give in straight away, but L J Smith wrote it in a refreshing way.

I really enjoyed the Awakening and was keen to read The Struggle until Damon appeared. Stupid Damon. Damon who wants to kill everyone.

The Struggle Review

Elena and Stefan had a beautiful relationship, with just enough mystery and making out and love and tension to want me to come back more and more, until bloody Damon came in and decided HE wants Elena. God. And Elena isn’t like Elena in the TV show. In the novel she finds it hard to resist. At first that was okay, he was using his “powers” on her (don’t even get me started, this is literally what they call compulsion in VD), but then Stefan gave Elena some vervain and she STILL GIVES IN. It’s like Stefan doesn’t even exist when she’s around Damon. Exactly what she did to Matt when she was pursing Stefan. Do you see a pattern Elena?

To make things worse Elena is keeping all the secrets about Damon from Stefan because she doesn’t want them to fight over her, yet of course this is creating a massive hole between her and Stefan. Duh! Elena! You are weighed down with guilt.

I still liked The Struggle, and I still want to keep reading this series, but I don’t want to be stuck in this terrible triangle crap when Elena isn’t even being honest about her feelings for Damon. She claims it’s his powers, but she has vervain, she can’t be compelled anymore.

 

The worst thing about these novels is they end on cliffhangers. The Awakening ended on one and it literally picked up the next sentence in The Struggle. But it was okay with The Awakening because there are two books in one, but The Struggle ends on a cliffhanger and I do not like it. It doesn’t even give you a small conclusion, it just ends in the middle of a scene.

Obviously I do have the next book to read, but still. That’s unfair. I want a little bit of closure after reading the 200ish words.

Leave a Reply

