Uncategorized

YA Novel Review: Switched

By Amanda Hocking
Trylle #1
My Rating ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪/5 stars
In a nutshell: A novel about trolls living in high society, and with a main character who actually has a well developed relationship.
Goodreads Rating 3.88/5 stars
Amazon Rating 3.9/5 stars

SwitchedCover Review

Switched has a GORGEOUS cover! The colours all work very well together and Switched is in a beautiful font. The only real issue I have with it is the butterflies. They don’t even make sense with the novel. I have no recollection of any butterflies in the novel at all. It looks cool, but it doesn’t really fit in with the novel.

I would definitely buy this novel because of the cover 🙂 It’s lovely and would definitely stand out on the shelf.

Also Amanda’s name is bumpy on my cover and she totally deserves it for writing an awesome book 😀

Wendy Everly knew she was different the day her mother tried to kill her and accused her of having been switched at birth. Although certain she’s not the monster her mother claims she is – she does feel that she doesn’t quite fit in . . .

She’s bored and frustrated by her small town life – and then there’s the secret that she can’t tell anyone. Her mysterious ability – she can influence people’s decisions, without knowing how, or why . . .

When the intense and darkly handsome newcomer Finn suddenly turns up at her bedroom window one night – her world is turned upside down. He hold the key to the past, the answers to her strange powers, and is the doorway to a place she never imagined could exist: Forening, the home of the Trylle.

Finally everything makes sense. Among the Trylle, Wendy is not just different, but special. But what marks her out as chosen for greatness in this world also places her in grave danger. With everything around her changing, Finn is the only person she can trust. But dark forces are conspiring – not only to separate them, but to see the downfall of everything that Wendy cares about.

The fate of the Forening rests in Wendy’s hands, and the decisions she and Finn make could change all their lives forever . . .

Brief Blurb Review – 57% correct, scroll down to read my full blurb review WITHOUT spoilers.

I had a very good time with Switched. It was easy to read, a good pace, and very likeable. As my four star rating says: I would definitely recommend it to a friend. Especially as a light read, or someone who LOVES young adult paranormal romance novels.

Wendy was a very good person to spend 293 pages with. She was all the good things a teenager should be, whilst still being believable as a teenager. The only thing that annoyed me was when she’d only known Finn, the intense and darkly handsome newcomer, for a few days she claimed to be in love with him. I don’t know whether it’s because I’m older or I’m in real & proper I-could-spend-my-life-with-you relationship… I just can’t take stupid teenage romances. Love is a very strong word and I find it hard to tolerate unrealistic love in books. I was appeased when Wendy admitted it was just a crush and then their real feelings developed over time. That made me a happy reader 🙂

My most un favourite character was Matt, her brother. He’s so annoying and he’s not even in like a giant percentage of the book. He’s such a terrible, jerky, big brother, and it’s mostly because of how Wendy see’s him in her head. Whenever she’s around Finn she always tacking on thoughts like, “if Matt knew he was in my room he’d punch his lights out”, or “I was going to a dance with boys and Matt was instantly not going to be happy about that.” Wendy for fucks sake, if you didn’t always treat Matt like he was a bomb about to go off on the word boy, I think he’d relax.

The plot of Switched was quite thought out. I didn’t find anything that particularly annoyed me except for stupid character behaviours. The romance was very well developed once they gave it time, and I really liked the glamorous ball gowns.

I found some of the ways of the Trylle lifestyle to be hard to take, but it didn’t hurt the novel as Wendy didn’t like them either. It would have been an easy novel to read in one sitting if work allowed me too 😛

My feelings after finishing the book in one word: SATISFIED; I had a good time with Switched and although I want to read more, more, more of the series, I was quite content with the ending.

Would I read it again? Yes, once my TBR pile lowers I would quite happily read this novel again.

What would I change? In the version I have an extra three chapters from the POV of the “evil” group, the Vitta, are put in at the ending of the novel. Within the Vitta there is a very interesting character who is a victim (for want of a better word) in the world of the Vitta. I would have liked to see chapters from his POV in Switched between Wendy’s. That would have really upped the ante.

Unabridged Blurb Review
I have divided the blurb into facts. Each correct fact is given a point. The points are tallied and a percentage is given.

[Wendy Everly knew she was different the day her mother tried to kill her and accused her of having been switched at birth.] Correct, it was quite interesting learning about how her mother tried to kill her… surprisingly. [Although certain she’s not the monster her mother claims she is – she does feel that she doesn’t quite fit in . . .] Correct, Wendy tries hard to be a good person by doing well at school to prove she isn’t a monster, but they move around a lot as she doesn’t fit in well with people at all.

[She’s bored and frustrated by her small town life] I’m going to award half a point. I don’t remember her being particularly bored or frustrated, but I know she doesn’t really like it because she can’t fit in. [- and then there’s the secret that she can’t tell anyone. Her mysterious ability – she can influence people’s decisions, without knowing how, or why . . .] Totally correct, she won’t tell anyone because she doesn’t know the first thing about it and she hates using it because it makes her feel like a freak.

[When the intense and darkly handsome newcomer Finn suddenly turns up at her bedroom window one night – her world is turned upside down.] Ugh, INTENSE AND DARKLY HANDSOME please find new ways to describe a hot boy. Or hey! Let’s keep them in a tiny bit of suspense instead of eye rolling, and describe the boy’s role in her life aside from being her love interest. None the less it’s correct. [He hold the key to the past, the answers to her strange powers, and is the doorway to a place she never imagined could exist: Forening, the home of the Trylle.] True! He knows all of these things, but does he reveal them? 😉

[Finally everything makes sense.] Well no, not really, when she gets to Trylle there are more questions than answers and nobody seems to want to answer her questions. [Among the Trylle, Wendy is not just different, but special.] Correct, she’s especially special. [But what marks her out as chosen for greatness in this world also places her in grave danger.] True, True. The Vitta are after her! [With everything around her changing, Finn is the only person she can trust.] Bull crap, there are at least five people other than Finn she can trust. [But dark forces are conspiring – not only to separate them, but to see the downfall of everything that Wendy cares about.] Half true, we get no inkling at all that the Vitta are trying to separate Finn and Wendy, but we do know they want to see the downfall of Trylle, however that is not everything Wendy cares about. I’ll give it point three.

[The fate of the Forening rests in Wendy’s hands, and the decisions she and Finn make could change all their lives forever . . .] Yeah true, very true (sadly… when you read the novel you’ll understand).

6.8/12 facts – a percentage of 57% (For those of you counting I took off a point for the length of the blurb. Is it REALLY necessary to have five paragraphs? Every time I read it I go ugh!!! It’s. So. Damn. Long.)

Other books by Amanda Hocking

Trylle #2 – 4.04 Stars on Goodreads

 

Trylle #3 – 4.08 Stars on Goodreads

 

The Kanin Chronicles #1 – 3.88 Stars on Goodreads

 

I’m really looking forward to reading Torn and finding out what happens after Switched. I am in love with Frostfire’s cover, and the rest from The Kanin Chronicles.

Click on each of the covers to be taken to their Goodreads site.

Or you can go directly to Amanda’s site: http://www.worldofamandahocking.com/

maybe signature

Leave a Reply

