Publishing Journey · Thoughts

It’s Official: I’m Self Publishing!

I’ve arrived at this decision after much thought. It always scared me going at it alone, and the idea does engulf me sometimes still – but after making a beautiful cover with my own creativity I feel confident I’ll be able to muddle my way through any issues I face.

Of course I’ll need some help along the way and there’s no way I’d be able to publish a thing without advice of the internet, acquaintances I’ve made through interviews and friends who also self publish.

When I start to doubt myself I think back to why I’ve changed my mind from traditional to self. It’s not the word load, or learning another trade that daunts me – I think more than anything it’s having faith in myself. But then I remember, agent & publisher or not, I still need to have faith in myself. And if I have enough faith to enable my books to reach enough people to make some money, then why not try for most of the cut myself?

I don’t need a fancy book launch (although that would be awesome!) my main aim is earning enough to work part-time or even quit day-jobbing-it all together.

I want to write. That’s my goal. I want to be able to write often, but I also want to be in charge of my own destiny. I want to be able to make decisions about my title or my cover or my blurb and have these things being changed because of my opinion. I will need help, no doubt about that, but I want to have more control over the success of my author career.

On the reader side of things I always keep in my mind a quote from an interview with T. H. Hernandez:

So many people won’t give an indie author a try because they’ve been burned by poorly written, edited, or published books. I can’t blame them. I mean, even if the book is free, you only have so much free time, and who wants to waste that on a poorly written book? By having a traditional publisher backing you, it gives you more credibility with a huge portion of the reading population.

This has always rang true to me and it always will. I’m hoping by working hard to create a beautiful image and platform for my book, along with honest, trustworthy reviews I’ll convince readers to give me a go.

I’m not trying to self publishing because I failed to make it past the “gate keepers”, but because I believe I can maximise my royalties for the same amount of work and because I want control over my life. Pure, simple reasons, which have more to do with self gain than just wanting to be a published author“. 

I have a sneaking suspicion I won’t feel like a published author until people buy my book and review it. Just because I’ve hit confirm (or whatever button KDP has to finalise the publication of the book) doesn’t mean anything until I know readers have been reached – and then I hope they enjoy their time spent.

I want to create a successful, honest career as a fiction writer. It’s been my dream for seven years, from the first time I penned my debut novel Liberty when it was still working under the title of Heads or Tails.

Anyways, enough rambling for tonight. It’s late and I’m starting my day job earlier. But I just wanted to get this out.

Thanks for listening x

 

Jo Carter 🙂

Leave a Reply

