Reviews

SCI-FI Novel Review: Spirit Raiders by Savio Dawson

Spirit RaidersSpirit Raiders by Savio Dawson
Page finished: 115 of 357

“A chance discovery leads to unearthing a plot against humankind; a plot to steal the very fabric of human creation.”

Mark is in the middle of a spate of abductions by two different sets of extra-terrestrials. Around the same time the U.S military unwittingly discovers few alien vessels in Earth’s atmosphere while testing a new technology called GAM. The knowledge of alien vessels around the periphery of Earth drives a team comprising of Mark, an agency called XTRA-T and the security agencies to unearth the intentions of those aliens. 

In the pursuit of truth some bone chilling revelation of Earth’s history comes to the fore. Unexplained events like Tunguska Explosion and many others are answered but nothing compares to the one that is in store for Earth. Mark and team have to find a way out and in many ways invoke the assistance of unexplained powers to redeem them at the time of need. 

This is the first time I’ve had to write page finished and therefore I haven’t included a rating. I stopped reading at page 115 and don’t feel like I should rate the novel like I usually do for reviews.

Savio is a talented writer, but unfortunately the novel lacks vital editing. His writing and the story is hidden beneath unpolished words and large sections of description. I truly believe with thorough, professional editing Spirit Raiders will shine – and I’d be happy to read a revised copy, which Savio has already told me he is seeking editing 🙂

There were interesting parts throughout the novel which is why I reached 115 pages, however the longer I was reading the more I was not wanting to. Often when I’m enjoying a book I’ll read it at breakfast, lunch at work and at home. Unfortunately through the last few days I was only reading it at lunch, and since I was reading it to enjoy it, that was when I decided to close the book.

A few other minor issues being the formatting wasn’t the *same* as traditional industry standard, but definitely not unreadable. Speaking from someone who is wanting to publish and has looked at indie publishing I think formatting of a novel is important to compete with the rest of the novels. However, again, it wasn’t terrible formatting where I had to squint to read – it was definitely readable 🙂

The cover isn’t spectacular but I’ve seen worse, and the title and author name is clear. And the image reflects the novel, which is an awesome bonus for me 🙂

A paperback copy of this novel was provided for my honest review. 

 

Has anyone been reading interesting books lately?

 

– Jo Carter 🙂

Leave a Reply

