Reviews

YA Review: Legacy By Cayla Kluver

LegacyRating: ✫✫✫✫✫
Pages: 488
Goodreads Rating: ✫✫✫.67

a crown princess…
a scandalous secret crush…
a kingdom on the brink of disaster…

In her seventeenth year, Princess Alera of Hytanica faces one duty: to marry the man who will be king. But her father’s choice of suitor fills her with despair. 

When the palace guard captures an intruder – a boy her age with steel-blue eyes, hailing from her kingdom’s greatest enemy – Alera is alarmed…and intrigued. But she could not have guessed that their clandestine meetings would unveil the dark legacy shadowing both their lands. 

In this mystical world of court conspiracies and blood magic, loyalties will be tested. Courage won’t be enough. And as the battle begins for everything Alera holds dear, love may be the downfall of a kingdom. 

I haven’t read a book as addictive and pulse thudding in months. I had the last 88 pages to read last night at 10pm and they flew by until 11.39pm. I really loved this book, but I will state: it’s not for everyone. I am a sucker for romance at heart. There were flaws in Legacy I could clearly see, but because the romantic storyline was amazing, I rated this book five stars.

Issues:

  • How easy it is for Narian to get into Alera’s room past the guards. It is way too simple, and the king should feel lucky the Cokyrians are courteous enough to either not kill anyone on their surprise visits, or to make their intentions known before killing people. Otherwise Hytanica would have no chance what-so-ever.
  • Alera doesn’t have a solid basis of dislike for Steldor. He does have an ego, but she doesn’t tell him that’s why she doesn’t like him. I almost feel like, deep down Alera likes his ego because it gives her a reason to hate him. On the whole, Alera needs to communicate more. Maybe we’ll see more of that in the next books as she’s grows as a person. This could just be a portrayal of an awkward teen relationship in a time when they are forced to grow up.
  • I can’t believe the king, Alera’s dad, is willing to push his daughters into a marriage they don’t want because he wants to retire. Even if he’s battle weary and doesn’t want to face the threat, doesn’t give him a good enough excuse for being a shit Dad. He can still be king, and it’s not like he’s the one giving orders to defend against the Cokyrians. Cannan is basically being king in terms of military.
  • I don’t understand why Alera expects her dad to accept another suitor for her when she doesn’t tell him about any. Her thoughts always crumble because she’s convinced her dad will accept no-one but Steldor. Even if that’s true, she doesn’t even try. She lets him bumble through their conversations and nod in the places she knows she *should* agree. I hope to see growth on Alera’s part.

If you’re a person who can push past all that and enjoy the romance, then pick it up. Seriously. Remember it’s a teen book and there are teenage characters in it, and then read until you are content.

[I’m not content! It ended of a freaking (sort of) cliffhanger! I’m seriously considering breaking my book buying ban to find out what happens, but I’m terrified about the next book. What if she doesn’t end up with who I want her to?? P.S. I smell a love triangle coming up and I’m afraid.]

Here’s the link to my Goodreads review. It’s very raw as I wrote it just when I finished it at 11:39pm. I was needing sleep and filled with anticipation for the next book.

 

Has anyone read it? Thoughts? Experienced anything similar?

 

-Jo Carter 🙂 [I’m off to start Raelia by Lynette Noni, who has jumped the reading cue because my cousin desperately needs someone to talk to about it 😛 ]

 

P.S. After skimming through more reviews on Goodreads, it seems like you either love or hate this novel 😉 ❤

One thought on “YA Review: Legacy By Cayla Kluver

  1. Pingback: Autumn Reads 2016

Leave a Reply

