Reviews · Thoughts

Autumn Reads 2016

I read eight books from March to May 2016. Check out my Goodreads Reading Challenge.

The LeopardThe Leopard by Jo Nesbø
Harry Hole #8
Read from 27th February to 15th March 2016
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪

This was one of the first thriller/murder mystery novels I’ve read, and I LOVED it! I am craving another. It has definitely helped me want to read more of this genre. I borrowed this novel, but enjoyed it so much I bought my own copy. I didn’t want to forget the author.
I don’t feel qualified to judge whether it was cliché or not because I haven’t read many of the genre, but I was kept guessing and definitely couldn’t figure out who the killer was until it was revealed to the reader.

Champion's SpiritsChampion’s Spirit by Karen Bentley
Created by Joanna Campbell
Thoroughbred #20
Read on 24th March 2016
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪

I honestly can’t remember reading this book, granted it is 4th of June when I’m writing this… But I generally remember my feelings for a book, and I don’t remember this. However, I did rate it four stars so it shouldn’t have been too bad. Here’s a review from a blog called Whitebrook. They have hilarious reviews of the Thoroughbred series.

HP #1 IllustratedHarry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone Illustrated Edition
Written by JK Rowling
Illustrated by Jim Kay
Harry Potter #1
Read from 28th March to 5th April 2016
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪

I’ve read HP #1 at least twice before, and this time my experience was truly enhanced because of the drawings. Jim Kay is an extraordinarily talented artist and I loved seeing his interpretation of the world. I definitely recommend it for fans of the series. And reading it as a 21 year old I found it super easy to get swept away with the magic, which I know adult readers are sometimes worried about.

The Power of OneThe Power of One by Bryce Courtenay
Read from 25th March to 20th April 2016
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪

This was my second Bryce Courtenay novel and unfortunately the ending disappointed me. Most of the novel was entertaining aside from a few slow parts. I wasn’t expecting to like a book about boxing, but I wasn’t bored, even with the multiple fight scenes.
But it only got a three star rating because the ending didn’t show any character growth at all. It seemed to me like the character recessed in his maturity. It spoiled the ending, but like with all books I don’t regret the reading experience. You can read my full review here.

LegacyLegacy by Cayla Kluver
Legacy Trilogy #1
Read from 20th to 27th April 2016
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪

I swooned with this novel. I really did. There’s a lot of mixed reviews on Goodreads, but I loved this book. I’m a romantic at heart and it pulled at all my strings. I even broke my book buying ban to read the sequel I was that into it.
It wasn’t a book without flaws, and I know a lot of people on Goodreads were portraying it to the author’s young age at the time she wrote it, but being a young writer myself, I think this novel is an inspiration. It does need to be read with a grain of salt because it’s not a book for everyone. It is written for young adult readers and romance is central to the story. Luckily for me I’m all about romance 😉 ❤ I also wrote a blog review & a Goodreads one.

AUTUMN

RaeliaRaelia by Lynette Noni
The Medoran Chronicles #2
Read from 27th April to 4th May 2016
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪

I feel like I’m once again doing too many four star ratings. I think I’m going to award Raelia another half a star because I feel like its better than some of the other four star books in this past season.
Raelia was another fantastic novel by Lynette Noni. It definitely didn’t suffer from book two syndrome. It complimented Akarnae well and has left me begging for more (especially considering the tear-jerking ending). I definitely recommend it for fantasy lovers and people who like make-believe, but don’t want something as heavy as Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones. I also like how the main character Alex, reminds me of Harry Potter in her “I just want a quiet year” attitude 🙂 Oh, and I also like how Raelia wasn’t just all about exploring Medora as my cousin & I feared it would be. It had a bit of everything 🙂

The Scorpio RacesThe Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
Read from 7th to 10th May 2016
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪.5

This novel was nothing like I pictured it. The idea of humans racing man-eating horses is insane. It is unique, and I’ve never read anything like it. It was slow to begin with. Not because I was bored, but because I had nagging questions about the catalyst of the story. I was thinking, “Why, why, why?” all the time, but by the end of the book I was definitely swept away by the magic. I wish there was more. I really do. And this is often why I jump at the chance to read series. Because I hate it when it ends and I want more to read.
If there’s any Mum’s reading who are looking for clean books for their younger YA readers, there is romance in it, but it’s clean and definitely not the main or only plot. It does have a slight horror aspect as people die at the hands (teeth?) of the horses, but nothing graphic.
Here’s my review on Goodreads.

AllegianceAllegiance by Cayla Kluver
The Legacy Trilogy #2
Read from 10th to 16th May 2016
Rating: ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪

See, told you 😛 Allegiance wasn’t on my to-be-read pile, I had to buy it because I HAD to know what happened. I wanted to read it straight after Legacy but my local newsagent didn’t have it (they thought I was talking about Allegiant by Veronica Roth). I ordered it off the net instead 🙂 Angus and Robertson’s store on eBay was very helpful as they checked the cover was the one I wanted from the warehouse before I bought it!
This novel also didn’t suffer from book two syndrome. It was once again easy to read, but I did guess the outcome of the romantic plot. Which wasn’t a bad thing, it was the most logical option for the main character (even if it wasn’t the guy wanted 😛 ).
I think it was a good edition to the series, and the main plot ended differently than anything else I’ve ever read. It didn’t give a cliché fairytale ending where everything works out 100+%. It was realistic, but not heartbreaking – which I thank Cayla Kluver for!

 


I feel like voting for my favourite cover this season. There are too many gorgeous covers!! I think my favourite is… ALLEGIANCE!!

Allegiance

I cannot help but love the combination of blues and purple, and the blood red moon.

Which do you like?

Leave a Reply

