Uncategorized

I’m not in the mood to see a romantic movie…

But a romantic one I’m going to. Myself, Mum & my sister are about to go see Me Before You based on the novel by Jojo Moyes. We were sucked into the trailer shown as an ad on YouTube (sometimes they work 😛 ) as none of us has actually read the book. However, right now, an hour before going, I’m not that keen. I feel like doing what I did yesterday – lay in front of the fire and read.

I finished Pride and Prejudice yesterday and watched the movie straight afterwards, and honestly, I think that’s what killed the vibe for me. After spending weeks reading the classic by Jane Austen, it felt very strange to have the journey shortened into just over two hours.
I also didn’t like the ad-ons they gave to the dialogue. I remember checking out the Instagram hashtag #prideandprejudice and being confused when Mr. Darcy’s renewal of his affections to Elizabeth at the end of the novel, had the added dialogue of:

“If, however, your feelings have changed, I will have to tell you: you have bewitched me, body and soul, and I love, I love, I love you. I never wish to be parted from you from this day on.”

And I know it’s one of the favourite lines of the film, but for me I didn’t like the addition. It made me feel like Darcy had made too big of a change, especially for something as short as a movie. Even in the novel, Elizabeth talks of knowing Darcy still has warmth to instil in himself (and by herself).

 

Therefore, overall, I’m not too keen for a romantic film, but hopefully it’ll be as good as the trailer!

-Jo Carter

 

P.S. I’m going to buy the BBC Mini Series, which has Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy. I love Colin and hope I’ll enjoy a longer version of it! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

