NaNoWriMo · Publishing Journey · Synopsis · Thoughts · writing craft

I’ve Decided NOT to do NaNoWriMo2016

As much as I loved doing national novel writing month last year, it’s honestly not the right time for me to write another novel. I definitely have an idea for book three in my fantasy series, but I have plenty of things to do with book one and two right now which will continue into November.

I’m starting to edit the draft of book two I wrote last NaNo. As this is only my second book written I was a bit nervous about the editing process, especially from a first draft. A couple of weeks ago I spent one of my days off reading through the manuscript in two sittings. I wrote a review like I would any other book, recording all my thoughts and feelings, and any ideas of changes to make.

This weekend I’m going to continue to update the scene descriptions in Scrivener. I’ll then compile the scene titles and descriptions only, to create a rough outline. From there I can start to change the outline, add in where things will go. I can already feel a bunch of re-writing coming on; new scenes to be added and old ones to be created fresh or revitalised.

One of my best friends is visiting over the Christmas holidays and wants to read book two, therefore I have a kind of deadline to get some editing done. But we’ll see. It’s definitely not ready in it’s current state for other readers, but it would be a nice Christmas present for her if I managed to get a fair bit of editing done.

I’m also waiting for an assessment of book one. It should be back towards the end of this month or start of November. I’m expecting lots of things to revise and cannot wait for when it is sent back to me.

 

As you can tell, those two things will keep me more than busy for October, NovemberΒ andΒ December. I wish everyone luck who is entering NaNoWriMo this year, and I know I’ll be jealous. I have an outline for what I could have written this November and it’s exciting me. I’m hoping I’ll still use the motivation of everyone in the NaNo community to push forwards. But I do know I’ll need a game plan. Editing isn’t as easy to record as word count, and often I’m not a writer who can work for an hour straight and call myself finished for the day. But perhaps I need to become more disciplined.

Does anyone have an strategies to stay focused and on track during editing?

 

 

– Jo Carter πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “I’ve Decided NOT to do NaNoWriMo2016

  1. I was heartened by your subject line as I too had planned to do NaNoWriMo but I thought my energy would be better spent if I focused on editing my draft instead. I think I could manage NaNoWriMo every second year, otherwise I fear I will have a series of nearly but not quite finished work. I like your idea of a deadline as that is what I was planning to do too in order to make headway. Great minds, hey!

    1. Thank you! I’m glad the post resonated with you. And you are right, great minds do think alike! I’m just trying to keep up a way to keep on schedule with editing. I’m not a “work for an hour” kind of person. I get distracted and waste my time. I like the word count goal of NaNo. I hope I can find something similar soon for editing!

Leave a Reply

